The Confessional Samadhi of the Lotus Sutra, page 17


A. Requesting Encouragement

With a single mind one kneels with one’s right knee on the ground. With an erect body and a dignified bearing, one burns incense and scatters flowers. With all one’s heart, one makes this thought:

The mind thinks about this as the mouth declares the words. The three other steps1 are also like this. One should make these words:

Having made the request, one worships the Three Treasures. Having spoken like this, the five limbs fall prostrate onto the ground. When one desires to get up, one expands on this idea using one's own thinking mind. The three other steps are also like this.


B. Joyful Acceptance

Having joyfully accepted, one worships the Three Treasures.


C. Devotion

Having turned and faced them, one worships the Three Treasures.


D. Raising the Vow

Having raised the vow, one worships the Three Treasures. In raising the vow, one should have the Bodhisattva Universal Virtue and all of the World Honored Ones before oneself. The mind reflects, the mouth speaks, and in the mind there are many prayers. These include:

Like this, there are various kinds of prayers that accord with the mind’s wishes. One should follows one's own ideas and expound upon them for oneself. It is impossible to describe one way for all.


Next Page          Text Outline          Home Page



1. The three other steps: joyful acceptance, the transfer of merit, and raising the vow

2. In thought, word and deed: The Three karmas - the creators of one's spiritual destiny - the body, the mouth, & the thinking mind

3. Amitabha: (‘Infinite Light’) Buddha of the Western Paradise of Ultimate Bliss in Nirvana

4. The Ten Groundings: (S. Dasa Bhumika) The Ten Final Stages of Bodhisattva development - #1 Rejoicing (Pramudita) #2 Freedom From Defilement (Vimala) #3 Emittig the Light (Prabhakari) #4 Blazing Insight (Arcismati) #5 Overcoming the Greatest Difficulties (Sudurjaya) #6 Manifesting Before Others (Abhimukhi) #7 Far Reaching (Duramgama) #8 Unshaken or Steadfast (Acala) #9 The Finest Insight Possessing the Ten Powers (Sadhumati) #10 The Cloud of Dharma (Dharmamegha) See The 42 Stages

5. The three obstacles: #1 The obstacles of karmic deeds (causes made) #2 The obstacles of retribution (effects received) #3 The obstacles of emotional distress

6. The Four Devils: Luring one away from the Path of Enlightenment #1 The Devil of Emotional Distress and Sensual Desire #2 The Devil of the (Five) Accretions of Self – the self or ego that one serves #3 The Devil of Mortality – the fear of death that holds one back #4 The Devil that is the lord and master of desire. The first three are the manifestations and the last one is the source.

7. Samadhi: Deep concentration of mind

8. Doors to the Dharma: (S. Dharmaparyaya) The means to enlightenment, Buddhist teaching/practice

9. Proper presence of mind: (S. Smriti) remembrance, mindfulness

10. Still at Home: Laity Having Left Home: Monk or nun

11. Paramitas: Also called the Ten Practices of Virtue - The Bodhisattva perfections: #1 Giving of oneself (Dana) #2 Morality (Sila) #3 Endurance or Forbearance (Ksanti) #4 Diligence (Virya) #5 Meditative concentration (Dhyana) #6 Insight (Prajna) #7 Skillfulness in Ways & Means (Upaya) #8 Vows (Pranidhana) #9 Spiritual Powers (Bala) #10 Spiritual Wisdom (Jnana). See The 42 Stages and the Bodhisattvas


Copyright © Peter Johnson 2001 - All rights reserved

Copyright Policy - Contact the Author at pj@tie


  Since July 9, 2001

FastCounter by bCentral